Rutherford Hayes Timeline

Rutherford Hayes Timeline. A lifetime of events for the 19th American President of the United States both public and private. From his birth on October 4, 1822 in Delaware, Ohio to his death on January 17, 1893 in Fremont, Ohio.

1822 Rutherford Birchard Hayes was born on October 4th
1825 John Quincy Adams becomes the 6th U.S. President
1829 Andrew Jackson becomes the Seventh U.S. President
1836 Seige of the Alamo
Hayes attends the academy at Norwalk, Ohio
1837 Martin Van Buren becomes the Eighth U.S. President
1838 Hayes enters Kenyon College
1841 William Henry Harrison becomes the Ninth U.S. President
John Tyler assumes the Presidency on April 6, upon the death of President Harrison
1843 Hayes enters Harvard Law School
1845 James Knox Polk becomes the Eleventh U.S. President
Hayes is admitted to the Ohio Bar
Texas is annexed
1846 U.S. war with Mexico
1849 Hayes moves to Cincinnati
Zachary Taylor becomes the 12th U.S. President
1850 Clay's Compromise
Millard Fillmore becomes the 13th U.S. President
1852 Hayes marries Lucy Webb
1853 Franklin Pierce becomes the 14th U.S. President
1855 Hayes serves as a Ohio Delegate at the Republican convention
1857 James Buchanan becomes the 15th U.S. President
1858 Hayes is appointed Cincinnati City Solicitor
Lincoln-Douglas debates
1860 South Carolina secedes from the union
1861 Hayes joins the Union army as a Major
Abraham Lincoln becomes the 16th U.S. President
The American Civil War begins
Hayes is promoted to Lieutenant Colonel
The Battle of Bull Run
1862 Hayes is wounded in the Battle of South Mountain
The Battle of Shiloh
The Battle of Antietam
1863 The Battle of Chancellorsville
The Battle of Gettysburg
1864 Hayes is promoted to Brigadier General
Hayes is elected to Congress
1865 General Robert E. Lee surrenders to General Ulysses S. Grant
Abraham Lincoln is assassinated
Vice President Andrew Johnson assumes the Presidency upon the assassination of President Lincoln
1866 Hayes is re-elected to Congress
1867 Hayes is elected Governor of Ohio
1868 Andrew Johnson is impeached
1869 Hayes is re-elected the Governor of Ohio
Ulysses S. Grant becomes the 18th U.S. President
1875 Hayes is re-elected Governor
1876 Results of the Presidential election is disputed
1877 The electoral commission declared Hayes the 19th U.S. President
1878 Hayes vetoes the Bland-Allison bill
Congress passes the Bland-Allison bill over riding the President Hayes veto
Hayes suspends Chester A. Arthur as the New York customs collector
1879 Hayes vetoes a bill that would limit the number of Chinese people allowed to enter the United States
1881 James Garfield becomes the 20th U.S. President
President James Garfield is assassinated
Hayes retires to Fremont
Vice President Chester Arthur assumes the Presidency upon the assassination of James Garfield
1883 Hayes was named the president of the National Prison Association
Pendleton Act
1885 Grover Cleveland becomes the 22nd U.S. President
1887 Interstate Commerce Act
1889 First Lady Lucy Hayes dies
1890 The Sherman Anti-Trust Act
1893 Rutherford Birchard Hayes died on January 17 in Fremont, Ohio

Back to top of Rutherford Hayes Timeline Page

Back to Rutherford Hayes Facts Page

Back to American Presidents History Home Page

Connect With US =>

President Rutherford B. Hayes

Rutherford Hayes