Franklin Pierce Timeline

Franklin Pierce Timeline. A lifetime of events for the 14th American President of the United States both public and private. From his birth on November 23, 1804 in Hillsboro New Hampshire to his death on October 8, 1869 in Concord, New Hampshire.

1804 Franklin Pierce was born on November 23
Thomas Jefferson is re-elected President
1809 James Madison becomes the 4th American President
1812 War of 1812 wit England
1817 James Monroe becomes the 5th American President
1820 Missouri Compromise
1823 Monroe Doctrine
1824 Pierce graduates from college
1825 John Quincy Adams becomes the 6th American President
1827 Pierce is admitted to the bar
1829 Pierce is named to the New Hampshire state Legislature
Andrew Jackson becomes the 7th American President
1831 Pierce is chosen as speaker of the New Hampshire state Legislature
1832 President Jackson vetoes the bill to recharter the Bank of U.S.
1833 Pierce begins serving term in the United States House of Representatives
1834 Pierce marries Jane Means Appleton
Rise of the Whig party
Pierce is nominated for a 2nd term in U.S. Congress
1836 Pierce is elected to the United States Senate
Siege of the Alamo
1837 Martin Van Buren becomes the 8th American President
1841 William Henry Harrison becomes the 9th American President
April 4, President Harrison dies of Pneumonia. Harrison served the shortest term in American History, just 1 month
Vice President John Tyler assumes the Presidency upon Harrison's death
1842 Pierce resigns from the U.S. Senate
1845 James Knox Polk becomes the 11th American President
1846 Pierce declines to serve as the U.S. Attorney General
Mexican-American War
1847 Pierce is commissioned Brigadier General of volunteers
Pierce marches to Mexico City with Winfield Scott's expedition
1848 Pierce resigns from the Army
Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
1849 Zachary Taylor becomes the 12th American President
1850 Pierce is elected President of the New Hampshire constitutional convention
Compromise of 1850
Vice President Millard Fillmore assumes the Presidency upon the death of President Taylor
1853 Pierce becomes the 14th American President
Gadsden Purchase
1854 Pierce signs the Kansas-Nebraska Act
1856 Civil War in Kansas
1857 James Buchanan becomes the 15th American President
Pierce travels to Europe
Dred Scott decision
1858 Lincoln-Douglas debates
1859 Pierce returns home to the United States
John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry
1861 Abraham Lincoln becomes the 16th American President
American Civil War begins
1863 First Lady Jane Pierce dies
1865 Abraham Lincoln is assassinated
Vice President Andrew Johnson assumes the Presidency upon the death of President Lincoln
1869 Ulysses S. Grant becomes the 18th American President
October 8, Franklin Pierce dies in Concord, New Hampshire

Back to top of Franklin Pierce Timeline Page

Back to Franklin Pierce Facts Page

Back to American Presidents History Home Page

Connect With US =>

President Franklin Pierce

Franklin Pierce

Speeches & Documents