Calvin Coolidge Timeline

Calvin Coolidge Timeline. Lifetime of events for the 30th American President both public and private. From his birth in Plymouth Notch, Vermont on July 4, 1872 to his death in Northampton, Massachusetts on January 5, 1933.



1872 Calvin Coolidge was born on July 4
Ulysses S. Grant is re-elected President
1876 Custers Last Stand
1877 Rutherford B. Hayes is elected President
1880 James Abram Garfield is elected President
1881 President Garfield is assassinated
Chester Arthur assumes the Presidency upon Garfield's death
1884 Grover Cleveland is elected President
1886 Presidential Succession Act
Coolidge enters Black River Academy
1888 William Henry Harrison is elected President
1891 Coolidge enters the Amherst College
1892 Grover Cleveland is re-elected to a second Presidential term
1895 Coolidge graduates from Amherst College
1896 William McKinley is elected President
1897 Coolidge is elected to the bar
1898 War with Spain
Coolidge becomes a member of the city council in Northampton
1899 Coolidge is elected City Solicitor of Northampton
1900 William McKinley is re-elected to as second Presidential term
1901 President McKinley is assassinated
Theodore Roosevelt assumes the Presidency upon Mckinley's death.
1904 Theodore Roosevelt is elected President
1905 Coolidge marries Grace Goodhue
1906 Pure Food and Drug Act
Coolidge is elected to the State House of Representatives, Masachusetts
1908 William Howard Taft is elected President
1910 Mann-Elkins Act
Coolidge is elected Northampton Mayor
1911 Coolidge is elected Massachussetts State Senator
1912 Woodrow Wilson is elected President
1913 Federal Reserve Act
1914 Clayton Antitrust Act
Coolidge becomes the President of the State Senate
1915 "Lusitania" is sunk
Coolidge is elected Leiutenant Governor of Massachussetts
1916 President Wilson is re-elected to a second Presidential term
1917 War with Germany
1918 The Battle of Belleau Wood
Coolidge is elected Governor of Massachussetts
Meuse-Argonne Campaign, September 26 through the end of World War I
World War I Ends, November 11
1919 18th Prohibition Amendment is ratified
1920 Nineteenth Amendment is ratified
Warren G. Harding is elected President
Coolidge is elected Vice President
1921 Post World War I business recession
Washington Armament Conference
1923 President Warren G. Harding dies on August 2, in San Francisco California
Calvin Coolidge assumes the Presidency upon the death of Harding
Coolidge sends U.S. Navy ships to Japan, leading the releif effort following the "Great Kanto Earthquake"
1924 Teapot Dome Scandal
Dawes Plan
Coolidge is elected President
1925 The Scopes Trial "Monkey Trial"
The Billy Mitchell Court Martial
1926 Revenue Act, reduced inheritance and personal income tax
1927 President Coolidge decides not to run for re-election
Coolidge vetos the McNary-Haugen bill, which would subsidize agriculture
Sacco and Vanzetti executed
1928 Merchant Marnine Act
1928 Herbert Clark Hoover is elected President
1929 Agriculture Marketing Act
Calvin Coolidge publishes his autobiography "The Autobiography of Calviin Coolidge"
Stock Market Crash
1930 Coolidge is elected the President of the American Antiquarian Society
1932 Franklin D. Roosevelt is elected President
1933 Calvin Coolidge dies on January 5, in Northampton, Massachussetts

Back to top of Calvin Coolidge Timeline Page

Back to Calvin Coolidge Facts Page

Back to American Presidents History Home Page

Connect With US =>

President Calvin Coolidge

Calvin Coolidge