Boston Tea Party Timeline

Boston Tea Party ~ December 16, 1773

On the morning of December 16, 1773 over 5,000 colonists met at the Old South Meeting House to plan the protest of the Tea Act, passed by Parliament on May 10, 1773. The Boston Tea Party was carried out later that evening. Over 100 colonists disguised as Mohawk Indians boarded and raided the three docked ships of the British East India Company. The Dartmouth, Eleanor, and Beaver. 342 containers of taxable tea was thrown overboard into the sea.

Boston Tea Party

The Boston Tea Party was organized by the "Sons of Liberty" a patriotic group lead by Samuel Adams. Some additional well known patriots of the "Sons of Liberty" include John Adams, John Hancock, and Paul Revere.

In 1774 Parliament passed a series of Acts to punish Boston for the Boston Tea Party, called the Coercive Acts. They were also known as the Intolerable Acts for obvious reasons. Leading to further protest and eventual revolution.

1764 The Sugar Act - British imposed tax on sugar and molasses to raise revenue to pay for debts incurred during the French and Indian War
The Currency Act
1765 Quartering Act
The Stamp Act - A tax forcing the colonists to pay for all printed material to be stamped
1766 The Stamp Act is repealed
Declatory Act
1767 Townshend Acts
1768 Massachusettes Circular Letter
1769 Virginia's Resolutions
1770 Boston Massacre - Five civilians are killed in Boston by british troops there to enforce the Townshend Acts
1773 Tea Act
Boston Tea Party - Colonist protest the Tea Act
1774 Coercive Acts also known as the "Intolerable Acts" passed by British Parliament in response to the Boston Tea Party
  • Boston Port Act, closing the harbor to all shipments until the East India Company was reinbursed for the destroyed tea

  • The Massachusetts Government Act, regulating the government

  • Administration of Justice Act, moved all capital trials of british soldiers out of the State of Massachusetts

  • The Quartering Act 1774, allowing british soldiers private housing anywhere in the state of Massachusetts
Quebec Act
First Continental Congress
Second Continental Congress

American Presidents & Founding Father

George Washington

John Adams

Thomas Jefferson

James Madison

James Monroe

First American President

Father of the American Revoluition

Father of the "Declaration of Independence"

Father of the U.S. Constitution

Back to top of Boston Tea Party Timeline Page

Back To American Revolution Timeline Page

Back To American Presidents History Home Page

Connect With US =>

Historical Events