19th Amendment Timeline

The 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution giving women the right to vote was passed by Congress on June 4, 1919 and later ratified on August 18, 1920.

1848 July 20, the first Women's rights convention is held at the Wesleyan Chapel in Seneca Falls, New York
1849 Harriet Tubman escapes slavery
The United States allows women doctors to practice
Elizabeth Blackwell becomes the first woman to receive a medical degree in the United States.
Zachary Taylor becomes the 12th American President
1850 Millard Fillmore becomes the 13th American President
1851 Harriet Beecher Stowe begins publication of Uncle Tom's Cabin in the National Era
1852 Elizabeth Cady Stanton is elected the President of the Woman's State Temperance Society and Susan B. Anthony Secretary
1853 Franklin Pierce becomes the 14th American President
Antoinette L. Brown becomes the first woman ordained minister
1857 James Buchanan becomes the 15th American President
1858 Lucy Stone becomes the first woman to be arrested for civil disobedience for refusing to pay taxes for her lack of the right to vote.
1859 John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry
1861 Abraham Lincoln becomes the 16th American President
Dorothea Dix becomes the first woman to receive a military job, she was appointed superintendent of nurses
American Civil War begins
1862 Mary Jane Patterson becomes the first African-American woman to receive a B.A.
President Lincoln signs the Homestead law
1865 Abraham Lincoln is assassinated
The 13th Amendment to the United States Constitution is ratified, abolishing slavery
1865 Andrew Johnson assumes the Presidency upon President Lincoln's death
1868 Andrew Johnson becomes the first American President to be Impeached by congress
The 14th Amendment to the United States Constitution is ratified
1869 Ulysses S. Grant becomes the 18th American President
1870 The 15th Amendment to the United States Constitution is ratified, granting African-American men the right to vote
1877 Rutherford B. Hayes becomes the 19th American President
1881 James Abram Garfield becomes the 20th American President
James Garfield is assassinated
Chester Arthur assumes the Presidency upon the death of President Garfield
1885 Grover Cleveland becomes the 22nd American President
1889 Benjamin Harrison becomes the 23rd American President
1893 Grover Cleveland becomes the 24th American President and makes History as the first to serve two non-consecutive terms
1897 William McKinley becomes the 25th American President
1901 William McKinley is assassinated
Vice President Theodore Rooseveltt assumes the Presidency upon the death of President McKinley
1909 William H. Taft becomes the 27th American President
1913 Woodrow Wilson becomes the 28th American President
1919 The 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution is passed by Congress
1920 The 19th Amendment is ratified by the states giving American Women the right to vote

Back to top of 19th Amendment timeline Page

Back to United States Constitution Page

Back to American Presidents History Home Page

Connect With US =>

Historical Events